Back in childhood,

There were unicorns.

There were superheroes

Expunging essences in bright beautiful colors.

There were tea parties.

Where dogs could be rulers,

And boys were jedi,

princes,

or both.

When I look back a little nearer,

I see less colors.

But when they show up they,

Pop!

Bright against earthy green tones and navy blues.

They are treated with less casualty than,

The unicorns of childhood.

But it’s weird how we still ignore them.

When I meet with friends we talk about the,

Gray humdrums of the future,

Dreams of domestic bliss.

But what about,

Me,

And now,

And unicorns.

I look back and I am in mourning,

For bright beautiful optimism,

That is still here,

In the present,

My present,

With me.

So I’m going to embrace the color,

Pop,

And play,

With unicorns.

And focus less on the dreams,

attained in the future,

Because that chase is futile.

The real adventure is already afoot.